File Photo: Fyromian Prime Minister Zoran Zaev (C) hugs a lawmaker after the members of the Parliament, in Skopje, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, 11 January 2019 voted to change constitution and change the country name to North Macedonia. EPA, GEORGI LICOVSKI

FYROM parliament ratifies historic Prespes Agreement with Greece: 81 votes for, none against

SKOPJE (ANA/N. Frangopoulos) – The parliament of the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) approved the constitutional changes tabled by the government of Zoran Zaev based on the Prespes Agreement on Friday evening, with 81 votes for and none against.

The four amendments ratified under summary procedures change the country’s name to “Republic of North Macedonia”; update the preamble of the constitution; redefine the state’s role in terms of the diaspora; and establish FYROM’s respect of territorial integrity and national sovereignty of its neighbouring states.

The Prespes Agreement, resolving a long-standing name issue between Greece and FYROM, will now need to be ratified by the Greek parliament before it comes into effect.

In an earlier announcement on Friday, the government said it had secured the approval of at least 80 deputies of a total of 120, including two deputies of the opposition Albanian party “Besa”.

The government said it had resolved the objections of Besa over the determination of nationality, which will be “Macedonian/Citizens of the Democracy of North Macedonia,” and it clarified for the party how nationality would be translated into the Albanian language for citizens of ethnic Albanian descent.

Prespes Agreement will benefit Balkans and all Europe, PM and chancellor agree (video)

Source: ANA-MPA

Be the first to comment on "FYROM parliament ratifies historic Prespes Agreement with Greece: 81 votes for, none against"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.